Some thoughts on… Cruelty-free Cosmetics III – Makeup

Last time we looked at products for body- and haircare but now it’s time to dive into the world of makeup. If you are just about to switch to cruelty-free and vegan products, you will get to know a wide range of amazing new brands and products to try out. I will list some of my favourite ones below, along with some of my Pinterest boards where I collect brands that are interesting and worth checking out.

Makeup

In German drugstores you can find Alverde, Alterra and Terra Naturi, all three of them are drugstore’s own brand available for very little money. More and more wholefood stores in Germany also carry Sante Cosmetics, Lavera and Benecos, all three of them being natural products as well. In the UK you can have a look at B. Makeup by Superdrug or Natural Collection by Boots. If you prefer to buy brands from the drugstore instead of online, also keep your eyes out for Sleek Makeup and Gosh Cosmetics, both of them are cruelty-free and have some great products available.

In terms of makeup I highly recommend checking out mineral makeup brands, who are more often than not cruelty-free if not even vegan. You can find a whole series of brands I looked into on the blog. My personal favourites are BM BeautyHoneypie Minerals for foundation, Concrete Minerals for eyeshadow and Everyday Minerals for blush.

Illamasqua, Sugerpill and Obsessive Compulsive Cosmetics (OCC) will deliver when you are craving colourful products with great quality. I’ve never tried Lunatick Cosmetic Labs myself yet, but I am very tempted. They offer cruelty-free, vegan and talcfree products with amazing horror, goth kinda design.

As you can see there are plenty of options and it depends on what you are looking for really. Have a look at my Pinterest board below to find some more inspiration.

Makeup Brushes

brushes

If it comes to cruelty free makeup brushes you will find a large selection available. Personally I am a fan of ECO tools, Cala and Real Techniques brushes, but there are plenty more brands offering synthetic bristles. You will find that a lot of mineral makeup brands also offer their own brush range. Some brands to look out for are as well are Bdellium who has a range of vegan bamboo brushes, Zoeva who has a vegan collection, Alimapure, Everyday Minerals and Neve Cosmetics. I should probably try and make a review of the brushes that I own soon, to give you a better idea of their quality. 🙂

Nailpolish

nail-polish

I love nailpolish! This has been one of the most difficult topics for me to research, because not only did I want to find cruelty-free products, and believe me there are plenty, but also as chemical-free as possible. In the end, I recently decided that from now on I want to focus on buying nail polish by Zoya, because I believe that they are probably the best choice out there at the moment when it comes to being cruelty-free and as chemical-free as possible while offering a great colour range and innovative finishes. My favourite nail polish remover at the moment is by Fresh Therapies. Check out my blog series on less-toxic nail polish for more information.

Related posts:

nailpolishremoverthumb 5free_thumbhoneypie thumb

Leave a Reply

