The Battle of… the Nail Polish Remover

sante

SANTE – Nail Polish Remover (£4.49/100ml)

crueltyfree copy vegan copy organic copy

What Sante says:

The SANTE Nail Polish Remover with organic orange oil and organic alcohol is acetone free and especially mild and gentle.

This acetone free nail polish remover is free of all harmful chemicals such as toluene and formaldehyde and it contains organic orange oil and organic alcohol which will be gentle on your nails. Our exclusive formula is also gluten free and vegan.

What I say:

Many people like the design with the pump on top, where you place your cotton pad and then press a few times to get the remover out. For some reason, I always manage to spritz all over the place, which is quite annoying. Not sure if I am just particularly clumsy, but it does annoy me. 😀

The scent is very natural with a hint of orange and so much better than your conventional nail polish remover. I would say it works okay but very pigmented polishes and glitter take a while to take off and there is a lot of rubbing needed.

Ingredients [Codecheck]:

Alcohol denat.*, Ethyl Lactate, Ricinus Communis, Aqua (Water), Citrus Aurantium Dulcis (Orange) Peel Oil*, Limonene, Linalool. *- certified organically grown

Other reviews:

freshtherapies

Fresh Therapies – Natural Nail Polish Remover (£8.99/50ml)

crueltyfree copy vegan copy sustainable copy

What Fresh Therapies says:

The natural polish remover is translucent with a fragrant smell which includes a hint of lime for freshness. All these ingredients are biodegradable and safe for the environment as well as you. This product is not tested on animals, allowing us to use the Leaping Bunny logo and is suitable for use by vegans too.

What I say:

I have only had the sample size of this product. It certainly smells better than any other nail polish remover I have ever tried. In terms of effectiveness, it does not compare to your standard product you buy at the drugstore even if you buy an acetone free product. For me it takes a little longer to take off my nail polish, in particular very pigmented colours or glitter.

However, if you press a cotton pad with the remover on your nail and wait for a few seconds, it usually does the trick. The remover is very gentle and doesn’t dry out my nails at all, which is a big bonus in my eyes.  In fact, I feel that my nails are smoother and more nourished afterwards, which is pretty surprising. As my nails are currently very dry this is so worth its money.

I am tempted to re-create this DIY tutorial by Funnypilgrim how to create a nail polish remover glass that doesn’t require cotton pads, as I think this would work well with the Fresh Therapies nail polish remover. Another English tutorial can be found at Pretty Frugal Living.

Ingredients [Codecheck]:
Fruit acid solvent (Methyl-Pentan-2 One, multi-fruit acids), amber acid (derived from plant lichens), deionized water, vitamin A, natural vanilla fragrance.

Other reviews:

Overall thoughts:

I think it really depends what you expect. Will these removers be as efficient and quick as a nail polish remover with acetone? No. But they are a lot milder to your nails and smell a lot less toxic and disgusting. This alone is a reason for me to keep buying them. Personally I prefer the Fresh Therapies one because it really makes me nails feel nourished after I use it, but it definitely is the pricier alternative.

There are a lot of different options out there and I previously made a post with some information on it, which I will link below. You might want to have a look at Ecco-Verde, it seems that some products are cheaper there than I have seen them elsewhere. The Benecos nail polish remover, which usually retails for £5.95 as far as I know, is available there for £2.99. The Sante one you can get there for £4.49 instead of £6.95 over at Love Lula. The Fresh Therapies one is cheaper on their own website though with £8.99 as compared to £11.19 at Ecco-Verde though.

Related posts:

nailpolishremoverthumb

Leave a Reply

