Illamasqua – Lipsticks

illamasqua lipsticks

About Illamasqua Lipsticks:

Let your lips speak volumes. Indulge in colour-intense lipstick with a highly pigmented formula, available in a choice of flawless finishes, from creamy matt to iridescent finishes. Illamasqua Lipstick glides on smoothly and doesn’t give up without a fight for the perfect all-night pout. A must have for professional make-up artists, and those who want to make a statement.

My overall thoughts:

Besides Atomic, all the lipsticks I own by Illamasqua come with a matte finish. These kind of lipsticks tend to be more drying on the lips than a cream finish and these ones are no exception. I think a lip balm is needed before application, otherwise my lips start to feel very dry too quickly. Especially with the more extraordinary colours like Apocalips, Disciple and Pristine I always use a lip liner (or eyeliner for that matter) as it can look a bit funny when the border of the lipstick is not super crisp. I noted down below what liners I use with every one of the shades, but you can obviously also just use a transparent lip liner to help you creating a nice outline and prevent bleeding. Last but not least I think it does help to use a lip brush when applying these lipsticks. Although the shape of the bullet allows a good application, using a lip brush will help to get a more even coating on your lips.

(1) Atomic – Fuchsia Violet, Semi-matte finish

atomic

illamasqua_atomic

My thoughts:

This lipstick was released with the Atomic Nature collection in 2011. I like to use an old lip liner by the brand For You called Frisbee’s for eyes and lips in the colour #02. I think it is a nice shade to wear during the day and I would say it is my favourite bright pink lipstick at the moment. In comparison to the other matte shades it is less drying and more comfortable to wear. See below how MagiMania and KakaBeauty wear Atomic:

atomic_magimania atomic_kakabeauty

Other reviews and swatches:

(2) Shard – Red Violet, Matte finish

shard

illamasqua_shard

My thoughts:

Shard was part of the The Sacred Hour collection from 2013. I like to use it with my Gosh Velvet Lipliner in 003 Cardinal Red. And what can I say besides what a stunning shade this is! A great berry colour and now my favourite lipstick by Illamasqua.

Check out below some inspiration how to wear Shard by Mouldy Fruit and Jamie Genevieve.

shard_ mouldyfruit shard_jamiegenevieve

Other reviews and swatches:

(3) Apocalips – Teal, Matte finish

hf-marilyn-large

illamasqua_apocalips

My thoughts:

Apocalips was part of the Human Fundamentalism collection in 2012.

My first Illamasqua lipstick as I just fell in love with the colour. Definitely not the colour everyone would wear out and I have to admit I am still building up the confidence to wear it out. I wore it twice in public when I was in London. Somehow I felt in London you can wear anything without being stared at the whole time. 🙂

The lipstick itself has a lovely matte finish and last well on my lips. I prefer to wear it with a lip liner though. I will have to look for a new liner to wear with it as I threw out my Sleek Eau La La Liner in Cobalt. Any suggestions for a replacement are most welcome.

Check out below some inspiration how to wear Apocalips by Killercolours, Fashonicide, Variolavera and Letzmakeup.

apocalips_killercolours apocalips_fashonicide apocalips_variolavera apocalips_letzmakeup

Other reviews and swatches:

(4) Disciple Deep Navy, Matte finish

illamasquaartofdarkness

illamasqua_disciple

Disciple was part of the Art of the Darkness collection in 2010. I apply the eye definer in 06 French Navy by the Body Shop before I add the lipstick. I find this one suits my pale skin better than Pristine, however it wears off rather quickly on my lips.

Get some ideas how to wear this lipstick below as worn by Ivy Experiments and Sokolum.

disciple_ivyexperiments disciple_sokolum

Other reviews and swatches:

(5) Pristine Pure Black, Matte finish

Illamasqua Pristine

illamasqua_pristine

Similarly to Disciple I find that Pristine does not last too long on my lips. I recommend wearing a lip liner, for example Nyx’s Retractable Liner in Black Lips, which I am using with Pristine.

Check out these lovely looks using Pristine by Jamie Genevieve, MothMouth and Pretty Trivialities.

pristine_ jamiegenevieve pristine_mothmouth pristine_prettytrivialities

Other reviews and swatches:

Ingredients [Codecheck]:

OCTYLDODECANOL, PARAFFINUM LIQUIDUM (MINERAL OIL), OLEYL ALCOHOL, CAPRYLIC/CAPRIC TRIGLYCERIDE, CANDELILLA CERA (EUPHORBIA CERIFERA (CANDELILLA) WAX), CERA CARNAUBA (COPERNICIA CERIFERA (CARNAUBA) WAX), CERA ALBA (BEESWAX), OXIDIZED POLYETHYLENE,CERA MICROCRISTALLINA (MICROCRYSTALLINE WAX), CETYL ALCOHOL, POLYETHYLENE, TOCOPHEROL PARFUM (FRAGRANCE) AND MAY CONTAIN: [+/- TITANIUM DIOXIDE CI 77891, IRON OXIDES CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499, RED 7 CI 15850, RED 40 LAKE CI 16035, BLUE 1 LAKE CI 42090, RED 21 LAKE CI 45380, CARMINE CI 75470, RED 36 CI 12085, MANGANESE VIOLET CI 77742, COPPER/ BRONZE POWDER CI 77400, YELLOW 5 LAKE CI 19140, YELLOW 6 LAKE CI 15985, RED 27 LAKE CI 45410,CALCIUM ALUMINUM BOROSILICATE, SILICA, TIN OXIDE, MICA] (EU EXCLUSIVE SHADES MAY CONTAIN: CI 77007, CI 77000) MAY CONTAIN CARMINE AS A COLOR ADDITIVE.

Related posts:

purepigment_thumb violate thumb notd thumb MATTE LIPSTICKS thumb

Leave a Reply

