IN and OUT – Toner #03

toner

IN: Lush – Eau Roma Water [£7.95/250g]

crueltyfree copy vegan copy

What Lush says:

This is an elegant formula that’s suitable for even the most sensitive skins. Rose water will help to calm and reduce redness, whilst lavender water will balance and soften the skin. This was created as a way to hydrate and soothe the skin both gently and effectively. Use it for a quick, refreshing spritz or to remove any traces of makeup or cleanser.

What I say:

I know that some people avoid Methylparaben in their products, but from my research it should be a safe ingredient, at least according is what I found out over at Paula’s Choice. Lush says on their website that “Methylparaben is used to control the growth of bacteria, yeasts and moulds. We use less than half the maximum permitted level to ensure the product is as mild as possible and the skin’s natural microflora is not affected. This low level of use also helps with the bio-degradability of our product and any waste material created during manufacture.”

I used to have a similar spray from The Body Shop called the Vitamin E Face Mist, which I used to like a lot, so I am curious to see if the Eau Roma can convince me just as much and is less drying for my skin than my Urban Veda Toner.

Ingredients [Codecheck]: Lavender, Water, Rose Water, Limonene, Linalool, Perfume, Methylparaben

Other reviews:

OUT: Urbanveda – Purifying and hydrating toner [£9.49 /150ml]

3stars

crueltyfree copy sustainable copy organic copy

What Urbanveda says:

Naturally formulated to Ayurvedic principles, our Purifying Hydrating Toner harnesses naturally pore-tightening botanicals to tone, hydrate and reduce shine. Nourishing organic extracts, vitamins and Amino acids are brimming with antioxidants to help impart a glowing appearance to skin.

What I say:

I chose this product after doing the skin type test on Urbanveda’s website. I would say I have combination skin, it can have dry patches but also does get a bit oily during the day. This toner is designed to purify skin and I always use a moisturiser afterwards, but I felt like it was too drying for my skin. It was not a bad product, but I think for my skin next time I would try one of their products for dry or sensitive skin. If you have very oily skin this product will probably work better for you than it did for me.

Other reviews:

Ingredients [Codecheck]:

Aqua (Water), Aloe Barbadensis (Aloe Vera) Leaf Juice**, Glycerin (vegetable source), Hamamelis Virginiana (Witch Hazel) Extract, Polysorbate 20, Rosa Damascena (Rose) Flower Water, Melaleuca Alternifolia (Tea Tree) Leaf Oil, Panthenol (Provitamin B5), Mentha Arvensis (Wild Mint) Leaf Oil, Citrus Aurantium Dulcis (Orange) Peel Oil, Azadirachta Indica (Neem) Leaf Extract, Picrasma Excelsa (Quassia Root) Wood Extract, Eucalyptus Globulus Leaf Oil, Illicium Verum (Anise) Fruit/Seed Oil, Mentha Viridis (Spearmint) Leaf Oil, Sodium PCA, Sodium Lactate, Disodium EDTA, Ethylhexylglycerin, Alcohol Denat., Phenoxyethanol, Arginine*, Aspartic Acid*, PCA*, 2-Bromo-2-Nitropropane-1,3-Diol, Sodium Ascorbyl Phosphate, Glycine*, Alanine*, Serine*, Valine*, Ascorbic Acid, Isoleucine*, Potassium Sorbate, Proline*, Threonine*, Histidine*, Phenylalanine*, Limonene*** *Amino acids **Organic ***naturally occurring in essential oils

Related posts:

toner thumb toner_thumb2

Leave a Reply

