Beauty Favourites 2014

Face

bmbeauty2

This year I really discovered mineral makeup for myself. Often it works better for me than liquid foundations and lasts a lot longer. I particularly enjoyed using the BM Beauty Foundation in their sample sizes I bought, which I already reviewed for you. My favourite concealer is also from the mineral makeup section and I hope to make a blog post about it for you soon, the Mineral Concealer by Lily Lolo.

everyday

This year I fell in love with Everyday Mineral Blushes and bought three overall in the shades Nature’s Sweet Side, Nick Nack (which you can both see above) and Disco Inferno. They are very pigmented and a little product goes a long way. Big plus for me is that they last better on my skin than any other of my blushes, hello Sleek, I am looking at you.

Eyes

I am still using my Too Faced Shadow Insurance Primer, which I think will go off soon. I always liked it but recently it doesn’t extend the longevity of my eyeshadow as much as it used to, but as I said, I think it is due to the product getting old. I found the Concrete Minerals’ Electric Eye Primer to work better to enhance eyeshadows with some shimmer, duo chrome effects or glitter in it.

zombiegirl_insta

Concrete Minerals’ Zombie Girl Collection was one of the most used eyeshadow (sets) in my stash this year. You can create lovely natural looks and I think my favourite colours are ‘Blood and Guts’ and ‘Graveyard’. I posted some swatches earlier this year.

zoeva

I found some great eyeliners in the Zoeva Graphic Eyes (in the picture above from left to right: 01 Female Attraction, 02 Good Karma, 03 Mr. Marvelous and 04 Rock’n’Roll Bride) as they are super creamy to apply but once they have dried they stay in place. The colours are just amazing and I am very tempted to buy some more as they released some new shades late this year.

Another mineral makeup product I really enjoyed this year is the Everyday Minerals’ Mineral Eyeliner in Smokey. Back in the day my favourite eyeliner used to be Maybelline Liner Express, I really loved the felt tip, but now I am quite happy with my alternative. I also found a liner by P2 last week or so, which has a similar applicator to the Maybelline one, so we shall see if it wins me back next year. Find below some looks where I used the Everyday Mineral Eyeliner.

IMG_20141004_173904216 eotd eotd

Lips

I definitely loved my Catrice Lip Polish in Megan Fuchsia. I liked its effect so much that I bought another colour recently called Red-volution. It has an amazing finish that I can only describe as wet-looking. Once it dried off a little bit you are left with a stain on your lips. Therefore it is great to wear everyday because it does not need much touch ups at all. The texture and finish reminds me of Yves Saint Laurent’s Glossy Stains, though I actually prefer the ones by Catrice, not to mention that they are a lot more affordable.

For matte lips, I really do look Illamasqua lipsticks, and my absolute favourite colour is called Shard, a dark plum kind of colour that applies well and stays on for quite some time. Catrice has some nice lipsticks with a matte finish as well by the way, this year I loved the Velvet Matt Lip Colour in ‘Pink Punk’ and ‘Of Royal Blood’ from their Rocking Royals Limited Edition.

Another great find this year are the Essence Longlasting Lipsticks. They are great lipsticks for everyday use as they have a nice selection of wearable shades that feel great on your lips. And although they are very moisturising they still last well on the lips and can be applied without much effort on the go.

I have posts planned on my Essence Longlasting Lipsticks and Illamasqua Lipsticks, so I will try to post them soon so you can find more information and swatches about my favourite lipsticks. Below some swatches of the above mentioned lipsticks:

  1. Illamasqua – Lipstick in Shard
  2. Catrice – Velvet Matt Lip Colour in  Of Royal Blood [Rocking Royals LE]
  3. Catrice – Velvet Matt Lip Colour in Pink Punk [Rocking Royals LE]
  4. Essence – Longlasting lipstick in Coral Calling
  5. Essence – Longlasting lipstick in Wear Berries
  6. Catrice – Lip Polish in Red-volution
  7. Catrice- Lip Polish in Megan Fuchsia

2014_favlips

Leave a Reply

