Battle of the… Liquid Foundations

dark rituals foundation

 

dark rituals foundation

From left to right:

  • Rituals – Gemstone Foundation in 1
  • Gosh – CC Cream in Porcelain
  • Witch – Witch Anti Blemish BB Cream
  • Witch – Anti Blemish Tinted Moisturiser in 01 Light

I started wearing more mineral powder makeup this year and particularly in summer I like the feeling on my skin. In winter however, I do enjoy a liquid foundation that also offers some hydration to my dry skin. On a daily basis, the Gosh CC Cream is my favourite as it offers light coverage that doesn’t feel heavy on my skin. For an evening out, the Rituals Gemstone Foundation is my go to foundation. Both Witch products I only use when my skin is irritated and has some blemishes to additionally support my skin in getting better.

In terms of ingredients, these foundations cannot compete with the mineral makeup I showed on the blog before, the Rituals one being still the best one out of the lot. I think in the future once I replace them I might have a look at Lily Lolo’s BB Cream.

Rituals – Gemstone Foundation (£20.50/30ml)

rituals gemstone foundation

What Rituals says:

  • A light foundation that blends perfectly with your skin.
  • Pure minerals give a delicate, soft finish that allows your skin to breathe.
  • The combination of precious stones allows your skin to relax.
  • Skin feels sensational.
  • Suitable for all skin types.
  • Contains SPF 15.

What I say:

I got some samples of this foundation ages ago and I really liked it, which is why I bought the full size. This foundation has a good coverage and does blur out lines and pores. I would not wear it on a daily basis, for that it feels too heavy for me personally, but when I am going out or generally am looking for a more perfect makeup look, the Rituals foundation is my choice. The texture of the product is smooth and I usually apply it with my Real Technique’s Stippling Brush. For my combination skin I need to powder my face to make it stay in place for a couple of hours.

Available in 6 shades.

Other reviews and swatches:

Ingredients [Codecheck]:

AQUA (WATER), CYCLOMETHICONE, POLYGLYCERYL-4 DIISOSTEARATE/POLYHYDROXYSTEARATE/SEBACATE, GLYCERIN, ISOAMYL LAURATE, HYDROGENATED DIDECENE, PROPANEDIOL, CETYL PEG/PPG-10/1 DIMETHICONE, BIS-HYDROXYETHOXYPROPYL DIMETHICONE, PHENOXYETHANOL, DISTEARDIMONIUM HECTORITE, ZINC STEARATE, SODIUM CHLORIDE, MAGNESIUM SULFATE, ALUMINA, TRIETHOXYCAPRYLYLSILANE, SODIUM DEHYDROACETATE, PEG-10 DIMETHICONE, HYDROGENATED LECITHIN, TOCOPHERYL ACETATE, PROPYLENE CARBONATE, TRISODIUM ETHYLENEDIAMINE DISUCCINATE, DIMETHICONE, TROPOLONE, AMETHYST POWDER, BUTYLENE GLYCOL, MANNITOL, YEAST EXTRACT, GLYCOGEN, MAGNESIUM ASCORBYL PHOSPHATE, TRIPEPTIDE-3, HEXAPEPTIDE-3, May contain: CI 77891 (TITANIUM DIOXIDE), CI 77492 (IRON OXIDES), CI 77491 (IRON OXIDES), CI 77499 (IRON OXIDES)

Gosh – CC Cream (£8.99/30ml)

cc foundation

What Gosh says:

GOSH CC Cream is an illuminating foundation delivering five results in one step. Light coverage, moisture and SPF 10 sun protection. CC Cream illuminates skin and evens out skin tone thanks to light-reflecting pigments that hide any skin imperfections. The perfect foundation for a natural glowing skin. The formula is oil-free and made without any perfume or parabens.

CC Cream illuminates skin, gives a light coverage and evens out skin tone.
Adds moisture to the skin and SPF 10 protects against the sun. Thanks to light-reflecting pigments skin imperfections will appear less visible. The active ingredient Gatuline® Radiance keeps skin looking flawless with its anti aging properties that improve skin microcirculation. The formula is oil-free.

– Light coverage.
– Illuminates.
– Helps skin to stay moisture.
– Protects against the sun with SPF 10.
– Anti aging.
– Oil free.
– Perfume and paraben free.

What I say:

I simply apply the CC Cream with my fingers as you can spread it really easily. It makes my skin feel really smooth and soft. Although the product is rather lightweight it still has enough coverage to hide your under eye circles as well as blemishes while it evens out your skin.

Available in 5 shades.

Other reviews and swatches:

Ingredients [Codecheck]:

Aqua, Cytoclopentasiloxane, Ethylhexyl Palmitate, Titanium Dioxide (nano), Ci 77891/Titanium Dioxide, Isopropyl Palmitate, Cetyl PEG/PPG-10/1 Dimethicone, Glycerin, Mica, Oleth-10, Propanediol, Phenoxyethanol, Sodium Chloride, Alumina, Dimethicone, Tocopheryl Acetate, Ci 77492/Iron Oxides, Isodeceth-6, Aluminum Stearate, Alumina Oxide, Ci 77491/Iron Oxides, Benzoic Acid, CI 77499/Iron Oxides, Evodia Rutaecarpa Fruit Extract, Dehydroacetic Acid, Simethicone, Disodium Stearoyl Glutamate, Ethylhexylglycerin, Aluminum Hydroxide

Witch – Witch Anti Blemish BB Cream (£6.99/50ml)

Witch-BB-carton_gl_27jul12_PR_b

What Witch says:

Witch’s Beauty Balm is ideal for blemish prone skin. It evens out skin tone, smoothes and hydrates whilst providing an immediate visible improvement in the appearance of your skin. SPF 15 protects the skin whilst the natural witch hazel helps keep it clear, leaving you looking flawless, radiant and natural.

What I say:

The texture of the Witch Beauty Balm is very thick, yet it does apply very evenly and blurs out blemishes and pores. I never tried an Asian BB Creams, but they are usually described as a product with thick consistency and good coverage, so I assume this Beauty Balm is actually similar to that. Most European Beauty Balms in recent years have been nothing more than a tinted moisturiser if you ask me. I would say it offers a light to medium coverage and the colours does adapt well to the skin tone. I simply apply this with my fingers, I don’t think a brush is needed for this product.

Available in 1 shade for all skin types.

Other reviews and swatches:

Ingredients [Codecheck]:

Aqua, CI 77891, Hamamelis Virginiana (Witch Hazel) Extract, Butylene Glycol, Dimethicone, C12-15 Alkyl Benzoate, Octyldodecanol, Ethylhexyl Methoxycinnamate, Glyceryl Stearate SE, Sorbitan Stearate, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, PEG-20 Stearate, Alcohol, Butyl Methoxydibenzoylmethane, Silica, Phenoxyethanol, Palmitic Acid, Caprylyl Glycol, Magnesium Aluminum Silicate, Mica, Stearic Acid, Polysorbate 20, Aluminum Starch Octenylsuccinate, Aluminum Hydroxide, Decyl Alcohol, Ethylhexylglycerin, Sodium Stearoyl Glutamate, Xanthan Gum, Sodium Hydroxide, Ascorbyl Glucoside, Niacinamide, Panthenol, Sodium Hyaluronate, Methylisothiazolinone, BHT, Sodium Chloride, Natto Gum,Chlorphenesin, EDTA, CI 77492, CI 77491, CI 77499

Witch – Anti Blemish Tinted Moisturiser (£4.99/30ml)

witch tinted moisturiser

What Witch says:

Tinted moisturiser that uses Witch Hazel extract to provide antibacterial coverage while it mattifies the skin. Oil and fragrance free, it eliminates the need for separate moisturisers and foundations.

What I say:

I actually found it quite hard to get my hands on this moisturiser and I found it by accident in a local pharmacy. To be honest, I am unsure if this a discontinued product or who stocks it at this moment in time. The only place I found it online is a pharmacy called Pharmacy2U.

The consistency is rather thick and reminds me of a foundation by Manhattan I used ages ago. It does have a mattefying effect, but it doesn’t last all day for me, I would definitely recommend wearing a face powder on top for it to last longer. I simply apply this with my fingers.

Available in 3 shades (Light, Medium and Dark).

Other reviews and swatches:

Ingredients [Codecheck]:

Aqua, Methyl Propanediol, Cetearyl Alcohol, Dicaprylyl Carbonate, Propylene Glycol Dicaprylate/Dicaprate, Aluminium Starch Octenylsuccinate, Pentaerythrityl Distearate, Sodium Stearoyl Glutamate, Phenoxyethanol, Caprylyl Glycol, Propylene Glycol, Xanthan Gum, Chlorhexidine Digluconate, Hamamelis Virginiana (Witch Hazel) Leaf Extract, CI 77891, CI77491, CI77492, CI77499.

Leave a Reply

