IN and OUT – Hair care

2014-09-12 15.40.38 copy copy copy copy copy

OUT: Paul Mitchell – Super Skinny Serum (£16.99/150ml)

4stars

crueltyfree vegan

What Paul Mitchell says:

Smoothes, conditions and seals strands, leaving hair silky, shiny and frizz-free in any weather. Lightweight silicones smooth, condition and seal hair with added shine. Speeds up drying so you get silky-smooth results in less time.

What I say:

I absolutely love the smell! Very citrusy and fresh. I put a small amount in my damp hair after I just washed it. I detangles my hair and makes it shiny. I bought this serum after a visit at the hairdresser who used this on my hair and made it nice and curly. I find it to be very lightweight on my hair. It isn’t the cheapest product out there, but it did last me for about a year when using it alternately with the Light Hair Oil below.

Other reviews:

Ingredients [Codecheck]:
Cyclopentasiloxane, Cyclotetrasiloxane, Dimethiconal, Fragrance, Amyl Cinnamal, Benzyl Alcohol, Benzyl Salicylate, Citronellol, Geraniol, Hexyl Cinnamal, Linalool, Limonene, Isopropylparaben, Isobutylparaben, Butylparaben

OUT: This One – Light Hair Oil (£1.79/100ml)

3stars

crueltyfreevegan

What Superdrug says:

A light, nourishing smoothing and shine enhancing hair oil. Suitable for vegetarians and vegans. Moroccan Argan oil is renowned for its abilitx to enrich and smooth hair to improve shine. Brazilian Pequi oil is revered for its nourishing and frizz-smoothing benefits and Jojoba oil is lovely and lightweight. This hair oil contains all three.

What I say:

Definitely the cheapest option out of the three products here, although I seem to remember I paid more for it when I purchased it a while back. I personally prefer the serum by Paul Mitchell, but the hair oil still does the job of nourishing the hair a bit more after washing it and gives it a bit more shine. Overall a decent product but not my favourite.

Other reviews:

Ingredients [Codecheck]:
Cyclopentasiloxane, Dimethicone, Parfum, Simmondsia Chinensis Seed Oil, Caryocar Brasiliense Fruit Oil, Argania Spinosa Kernel Oil, Butylphenyl Methylpropional, Limonene, Coumarin, Benzophenone-3, Alpha-Isomethyl Ionone, Linalool

IN: Blow Pro – You Only Smoother (£6.99/148ml)

crueltyfree

What Blow Pro says:

Developed, tested and proven by the experts at Blow, New York’s premier blow dry bar, blowpro hair care is formulated with an exclusive pure protein blend that is nourishing yet weightless – delivering all the protection you need and the lasting style you want. Blowpro products are also free of harsh sulfates, parabens & sodium chloride and are 100% keratin treatment compliant.

What I say:

I bought this when it was on sale together with a shampoo and conditioner by the same brand. My first impression is okay, it does detangle my hair and actually seems to make it quite curly. It does smell quite sweet and artificial. I’ve yet to find a good all natural leave in conditioner. Anyone knows a great natural alternative let me know. 🙂

Other reviews:

Ingredients [Codecheck]:

Water (Aqua), Behentrimonium Chloride, Cetearyl Alcohol, Propylene Glycol, Cyclopentasiloxane, Keratin, Panthenol, Chamomilla Recutita (Matricaria) Flower Extract, Camellia Sinensis Leaf Extract, Hydrolyzed Amaranth Protein, Hydrolyzed Lupine Protein, Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein, Hydrolyzed Rice, Protein, Polyquaternium-55, Cetrimonium Chloride, Glycerin, Fragrance (Parfum), Disodium Edta, Diazolidinyl Urea, Iodopropynyl Butylcarbamate

3 comments

Leave a Reply

