IN and OUT – MakeUp Remover #01

image

IN: Lush – 9 To 5 Cleansing Lotion (£9.50/240g)

#crueltyfree #vegan

What Lush says

A simple yet beautiful liquid facial cleanser for those times when you’re in a hurry and need to just cleanse and go.

We make this by steeping fresh dove orchids in almond oil overnight – then strain the petals out and use the infused oil as the base for this cleanser. Contains a lovely light fragrance of honeysuckle and ylang ylang.

What I say

I was told in store that the product is suitable for face and eyes, so I am looking forward to see if this works or not. From previous experience I usually went for two products, one only for the face and one specifically for removing eye makeup. I bought the small version (£4.95 for 95g) to see if I like the product, before I buy the full size (£9.50 for 240g).

Ingredients

Water, Almond Oil, Stearic Acid, Fresh Dove Orchid Extract, Everlasting Flower Absolute, Ylang Ylang Oil, Triethanolamine, Cetearyl Alcohol, Perfume, Methylparaben, Propylparaben
*occurs naturally in essential oils

[Codecheck] 7 empfehlenswert, 1 eingeschränkt empfehlenswert, 1 nur Einzelfallbewertung möglich

OUT: Clinique – Rinse-Off MakeUp Solvent (£17.00/125ml)

What Clinique says

Fast, water-rinsable eye makeup dissolver. For quick makeup changes and repairs. Cleans up eyes easily without disturbing other makeup. No rubbing. No smudging. No oil.

What I say

It is true that this product is good for removing makeup when you made a mistake and want to correct it or if you want to put on a new makeup completely as it does not leave you completely oily after using it. However, for the price tag I did not find it overly impressive and would rather buy cheaper alternatives in the future. Plus, Clinique is not cruelty-free, which is why I am currently looking into alternative solutions.

Ingredients

Water, Peg-32, Butylene Glycol, Disodium Cocoamphodiacetate, Peg-6, Trisodium Edta, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Butylparaben

[Codecheck] 5 empfehlenswert, 3 eingeschränkt empfehlenswert, 1 weniger empfehlenswert

image

IN: Superdrug B. Pure – Micellar Water (£4.99/150ml)

#crueltyfree #vegan

What Superdrug says

Quick and easy 3-in-1 cleanser that dissolves impurities in a single sweep, no water required. Ideal for all skin types even the most sensitive.

B. Pure with this 3-in-1 ‘super’ water. Quick and effective yet extremely gentle.

  • Cleanses – Removes impurities and makeup.
  • Tones – Restores pH balance whilst keeping the skin supple.
  • Refreshes – with cucumber juice extract.
  • Ophthalmically approved.
  • Dermatologically approved.

What I say

Along with the hype of micellar waters, Superdrug released one with their new B. Pure line earlier this year. When I finally found it in store I had to get it. I already tried it once because I was so curious, but I have to say I dislike the smell and it definitely is not suitable for the eye area. I will use this one up and see if my opinion changes, but currently it looks like I will not repurchase this one.

Ingredients

Aqua, PEG-6 Caprylic/Capric Glycerides, Butylene Glycol, Polysorbate 20, Pentylene Glycol, Disodium Cocoyl Glutamate, Phenoxyethanol, Propylene Glycol, Cucumis Sativus (Cucumber) Juice, Caprylhydroxamic Acid, Disodium EDTA, Methylpropanediol, Citric Acid, Phosphoric Acid, Sodium Benzoate, Potassium Sorbate, Sodium Sulfite

[Codecheck] 9 empfehlenswert, 5 eingeschränkt empfehlenswert, 1 weniger empfehlenswert

OUT: Garnier – Soft Essentials Comforting Cleansing Lotion

What Garnier says

Soft Essentials Complete Cleansing milk is an easy, effective way to remove even long-lasting, face and eye make-up in just one step whilst being gentle on your skin, suitable for dry skin.

What I say

I smells lovely like roses and does a good job at taking off your makeup. It is meant for taking off all your makeup, however I find it takes a while to get rid off my eye makeup, which is why I usually applied it after using a special eye makeup remover and only took off the last rest of black under my eyes and other than that concentrated on taking off my foundation or powder with it. Garnier products are generally reasonably priced, this cleansing lotion retails around £3.49, but in my journey to cruelty-free products, I will not repurchase this product.

Leave a Reply

