Why Dove’s “Real Beauty Sketches” Video Makes Me Uncomfortable… and Kind of Makes Me Angry

Read jazzylittledrops’s take on Dove’s new marketing videos. It is well worth reading! As much as I love makeup and other beauty related things, it is important to never forget that us women can offer so much more than looking beautiful. To me, makeup is a way of expressing myself, not always in the traditional ways that most people would call beautiful, but thats okay with me. I like to be different, I express who I am, even if other people think this makes me less beautiful. I think we all have to learn to embrace ourselves and love things about us that go beyond the traditional body image or what currently is defined as beautiful. I know it is easier said than done, but let us try to not have companies dictate our beauty regime and body image and start defining it ourselves.

jazzylittledrops:

So this video started going around my facebook today, with about a dozen of my female friends sharing the link with comments like, and “Everyone needs to see this”, and “All girls should watch this,” and “This made me cry.” And I’m not trying to shame those girls! I definitely understand why they would do so. And I don’t want to be a killjoy. But as I clicked link and started watching the video, I started to feel a slight sense of discomfort. I couldn’t put my finger on why that was, exactly, but it continued throughout the whole thing. After watching the video several more times, I have some thoughts…

Read More

Leave a Reply

